Hebron senior Trejan Bridges, pictured, was named Co-MVP of District 6-6A alongside Coppell’s Jonathan McGill.

With Hebron’s loss in the third round of the playoffs last Saturday against Haltom, the 2018 District 6-6A football season officially came to a close.

The district produced many highlights and drama throughout the year, with six teams in contention for the postseason entering the penultimate weekend and numerous games between those contenders being decided not only in the fourth quarter, but in the final minutes.

The year was particularly strong and entertaining for programs in Lewisville ISD and Coppell, with first-place Flower Mound, second-place Lewisville, third-place Coppell and fourth-place Hebron earning the four available playoff berths with Marcus just one game back of a postseason berth.

Recently, individuals from Lewisville ISD, Coppell and Irving ISD were rewarded for their strong campaigns with inclusions on the 2018 6-6A all-district team.

To little surprise, LISD and Coppell dominated the superlative honors and were the most represented programs on the first and second teams.

While Flower Mound won the district and coaches were named the district’s Staff of the Year, MVP honors were shared by a pair of the district’s most versatile players in Coppell senior Jonathan McGill and Hebron senior Trejan Bridges.

McGill, and SMU commit on the defensive side of the ball, did a little bit of everything for the Cowboys’ offense this year, throwing for 20 yards, rushing for 239 yards and a touchdown and pulling down 37 receptions for 355 yards and three scores and chipping in 239 yards on punt returns. It was on the defensive side where he really made his mark, however, as he racked up 62 tackles from his safety position with two interceptions, two fumbles recoveries and a blocked field goal.

Bridges, meanwhile, had 11 tackles and an interception defensively, but is bound for Oklahoma for his play-making ability on the offensive side.

As a senior, Bridges rushed for 4323 yards (7.9 per carry) and seven touchdowns while hauling in 58 receptions for 834 yards (14.4 per catch) and an additional 13 scores.

While two-way players shared the MVP award, top offensive player honors went the way of Flower Mound quarterback Blake Short.

While leading the Jaguars to a perfect run through district, the junior signal-caller completed 64 percent of his passes for 2,812 yards and 26 touchdowns against 14 interceptions.

Defensively, Lewisville boasted one of the area’s top units and had 12 players named to the all-district team headlined by Player of the Year and senior end Kadren Johnson.

Top newcomers from the district were Hebron’s Isaiah Broadway and Lewisville Armani Winfield on the offensive side and Coppell’s Walker Polk on defense.

Freshman running back Broadway posted 481 yards (5.7 per carry) and logged five touchdowns for the Hawks with receiver Winfield notching 27 receptions for 376 yards and three touchdowns.

Polk, meanwhile, had a team-high 116 tackles for the Cowboys (seven for loss) with a sack and forced fumble.

Rounding out the superlative winners from the district is Coppell senior kicker Caden Davis.

The Texas A&M commit logged 33 touchbacks on kickoffs, averaged 40.3 yards per punt, made 32-of-34 extra points and banged in 11-of-15 field goals, including two game-winners of better than 50 yards.  

As noted, numerous other players from Flower Mound, Lewisville, Coppell, Hebron and Marcus were peppered throughout the first and second teams.

For continued news and coverage on the local sports scene, follow @JThomasSCN on Twitter.

You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.

Recommended for you

Load comments