Flower Mound soccer

Flower Mound senior Joey Perryman, middle, was named 6-6A MVP after helping lead the Jaguars back to the playoffs.

After blitzing the field in District 6-6A boys soccer last year, so much so that it had the conference championship wrapped up before the season was put on hold by the COVID-19 pandemic, Marcus’ hopes of a repeat performance met plenty of resistance this season.

Nevertheless, the Marauders remained undeterred in once again finishing atop the league table to add another district title to their trophy case.

While Marcus remained the class of the district, Coppell clinched a playoff berth for the 23rd consecutive postseason, Flower Mound enjoyed a bounce-back year and returned to the postseason, and Plano secured its first playoff appearance since 2014.

Although the district wasn’t long for the postseason, collectively swept in the bi-district round by 5-6A, there have been plenty of accolades to go around for several of 6-6A’s top players. That includes a wealth of spots on the all-district team, which featured superlatives earned by five of the league’s eight high schools.

The top honor went to Flower Mound senior Joey Perryman, whose return to the high school pitch lifted the Jaguars back into contention after a down year in 2020. Perryman had the attention of every defense Flower Mound took on this season, accounting for 11 goals and five assists on his way to 6-6A MVP honors.

A first-time accolade for the forward, Perryman was joined by fellow senior Landon Leach, who was named goalkeeper of the year for the third time in four varsity campaigns. With Leach between the pipes, Flower Mound surrendered just 0.7 goals per match in 2021.

“Both players were a big reason why we made the playoffs. Joey scored so many big goals especially when we had to play six games in eight days due to the snow,” said David Doyle, Flower Mound head coach. “Landon has been a solid keeper for us since his freshman year. He made big saves to keep us in games or keep leads. These two were the last two players left from our state-winning team and the rest of the team looked to them for leadership and they both provided it.”

District champion Marcus led the superlative count with three awards. Senior Noah Peeler was named offensive player of the year and junior Woodi Pondeca nabbed defensive player of the year honors. Both played were instrumental in leading a Marcus team that went 11-1-2 in district play and posted a plus-35 goal differential during the regular season. Head coach Sam Garza had a hand in that stellar campaign as well, earning coach of the year honors for the second straight season.

Plano’s resurgent year didn’t go without recognition as well. Senior Sage Trevino capped his high school career with a utility player of the year honor and junior Nolan Giles split newcomer of the year with Lewisville sophomore DJ Koulai.

Coppell senior Alex Salvo was named the district’s top midfielder after helping steer the Cowboys to a second-place finish.

There was no shortage of selections to go elsewhere on the all-district with 25 players named to the first team and 23 more earning second-team honors.

Marcus’ first-team nods went to Porter Pomykal, Ty Stoutmeyer, Avery Estell, Jackson Golden and Dylan Watson, while Andrew Wang, Hunter Hoffman, Zac Castro, Nick Julien and Grayson Turner were all named to the second team.

Runner-up Coppell’s all-district ledger included Walker Stone, Collin MacDonald, Victor Salvo and Brandon Gast on the first team, as well as Sebastian Flores, Daniel Nelson, Garret Greaves and Preston Taylor on the second team.

Flower Mound’s Sebastian Palma, Reagan Tubbs, Eric Denisco and Jackson Matthews all cracked the first team, followed by Eric Austen, Cambren Sievert and Diego Morales on the second team.

Plano landed three on each team, with first-team spots going to Jonathan Cui, Trevino and Giles, while Ethan Wood, Corbin Quintero and Aiden Ussery were all named to the second team.

Outside the playoff picture, Plano West recognized Dayerson Graterol, Santiago Sanchez and Iago Gerber for the first time and Mathias Pretet and Blake Rossley for the second team. Plano East’s Walters Che and Barrett Agnew earned spots on the first team as well, while William Torres and Luke Mulkey represented the Panthers on the second.

Lewisville ISD’s contingent rounded out with four picks apiece for Hebron and Lewisville. Hawks named to the first team were Cayden Casburn and Brayden Beck with Luke Dean and Mike Gonzales on the second team, while the Farmers selected Brandon Montolla and Van Uk for the first time and Brian Beltran ad Edwin Beltran for the second team.

For continued news and coverage on the local sports scene, follow Matt Welch on Twitter.

You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.

Recommended for you

Load comments