West Mesquite senior Junior Saavedra was recently named to the TASCO Senior Showcase.

One of the final events of the athletics season is the Texas Association of Soccer Coaches Senior Showcase, which features some of the top players from around the state.

There will be no official game this year due to the COVID-19 pandemic, but TASCO still recognized what would have been the official rosters and there were several local representatives.

West Mesquite’s Jeremiah Villarreal was honored as the TASCO Class 5A Region 2 coach of the year and he was tabbed to serve as one of three coaches for the regional boys team.

That group includes two of his own players with forward Junior Saavedra and goalkeeper Rodolfo Coronel.

Saavedra earned 13-5A most valuable player honors after tallying 17 goals and nine assists. Coronel, a former first-team all-district defender, moved into net and recorded nine shutouts to be named to the 13-5A first team.

Frisco ISD had a trio of representatives named to the team.

Perennial power Wakeland was represented by forward Marc Borbonus, the 9-5A offensive player of the year who had 16 goals and eight assists.

He was joined by Centennial midfielder Nick Wanzer, who was voted the 9-5A most valuable player as he recorded eight goals and six assists in leading the Titans back to the playoffs.

Frisco midfielder Shane Anderson was the 9-5A utility player of the year after registering seven goals and seven assists.

Lovejoy defender Michael Branch was selected to the squad on the heels of being named to the 10-5A first team.

Also recognized was Naaman Forest’s Carlos Hernandez, the 10-6A defensive player of the year.

There was also plenty of local representation on the girls team, including Class 5A Region 2 coach of the year Geoff Ajdukovich, who had Frisco Independence in position to win the 9-5A title.

One of the stars for the Knights, forward Landry Corbett, was named to the squad, as the 9-5A offensive player of the year recorded 17 goals and 12 assists.

Fellow FISD standout Madi Starrett of Lebanon Trail, was also recognized as one of top two-way players in the state, as she was named 9-5A co-defensive player of the year while also adding seven goals and 13 assists.

Horn defender Emily Alarcon, a three-time first-team all-district honoree out of 11-6A, was selected to the team.

Prosper midfielder Lauren Miller, the 9-6A utility player of the year, and Celina defender Abby Daniels, the 9-4A co-defensive player of the year, round out the local nominees.

For continued coverage on the local sports scene, follow Devin Hasson on Twitter: @DevinHasson

You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.

Recommended for you

Load comments