You are the owner of this article.

Kohler earns co-MVP honors on 8-5A all-district list

  • 0
  • 2 min to read
Logan Kohler

Little Elm’s Logan Kohler was named co-MVP in District 8-5A this season and will continue his career into college at Oklahoma in the fall.

The 2018-19 athletics year is officially in the books and Little Elm closed things out with a bang once again after another stellar season on the baseball diamond.

Head coach Matt Harbin led the Lobos to the postseason for the third year in a row and even a first-round series victory over Brewer, something Little Elm hadn’t accomplished since 2016.

The team’s successes this year were because of a well-rounded effort that landed nine Lobos on the all-district list by season’s end and included two superlatives.

Junior pitcher Derek Lewis emerged as a vital piece of Little Elm’s rotation and quickly became the ace of the ballclub by the time district play really ramped up.His standout play on his first stint with the varsity squad landed him as a Pitching co-Newcomer of the Year alongside Denton Ryan’s Conner Bivins, and he is poised for a successful 2020 campaign as a senior.

But perhaps the greatest reason for the Lobos’ immense success this past season came from one of the program’s most dominant players ever in Oklahoma signee Logan Kohler.The standout shortstop and pitcher dominated in every facet of the game throughout his time as a senior, as the four-year varsity starter was named co-MVP of 8-5A next to Denton’s Christian Herry.

Kohler smacked a team-high six home runs this season to go along with three triples and a .323 batting average. His play at the plate stood out on its own, but it’s what he did defensively at the shortstop position and in relief on the mound that solidified his MVP status.In 36 innings pitched, he allowed just three earned runs, fanned 40 batters and earned five saves all while maintaining an ERA of .538.

Other Lobos like sophomore Josh Renteria, junior Jorge Aldrete and seniors Brandon Burke and Ethan Winfrey allearned first-team honors, while sophomore Luis Cruz and seniors Dalton Capps and Merrick Roy snagged spots on the second team.

When it was all said and done, Little Elm sported the most players on the 8-5A all-district list with nine, compared to district-champion Denton’s eight.


2019 8-5A All-District BaseballTeam

Co-MVP: Christian Herry, Denton, Sr.

Co-MVP: Logan Kohler, Little Elm Sr.

Offensive Player of the Year: Ryan Hull, Lake Dallas, Sr.

Defensive Player of the Year: Reese Parker, Denton, Sr.

Pitcher of the Year: Ryan Depperschmidt, Lake Dallas, Sr.

Offensive Newcomer of the Year: Nic Bennett, Braswell, Soph.

Co-Sophomore of the Year: Caden Greanead, Denton, Soph.

Co-Sophomore of the Year: Chase Brown,  lony, Soph.

Pitching C-Newcomer of the Year: Conner Bivins, Denton Ryan

Pitching C-Newcomer of the Year: Derek Lewis, Little Elm, Jr.

First Team

Nick Perry, Braswell, Jr.

Austin Wheeler, Denton, Sr.

Ben Price, Lake Dallas, Jr.

Shay Hartis, The Colony, Sr.

Tayte Tredaway, Northwest, Sr.

Justin Rumfield, Denton, Soph.

Logan Quan, Braswell, Jr.

Josh Renteria, Little Elm, Soph.

Dylan Bivins, Denton Ryan, Jr.

Jorge Aldrete, Little Elm, Jr.

Christian Healer, Northwest, Sr.

Ty Mongo, Denton, Sr.

Ethan Winfrey, Little Elm, Sr.

Ryan Scott, The Colony, Soph.

Jayson Jones, Braswell, Fr.

Brandon Burke, Little Elm, Sr.

Second Team

Ethan Fields, Braswell, Jr.

Tristan Wittau, Denton Ryan, Jr.

Austin Price, The Colony, Jr.

Max Lankford, Northwest, Soph.

Mason Davis, Denton, Sr.

Trevan Fenner, Denton Ryan, Jr.

Weldon Sherrill, Northwest, Soph.

Martin Rodriguez, Denton Ryan, Jr.

Keagan Cunningham, Denton Ryan, Soph.

Parker Smith, Denton, Jr.

Dalton Capps, Little Elm, Sr.

Merrick Roy, Little Elm, Sr.

Mario Lopez, Braswell, Jr.

Johan Davila, Denton Ryan, Sr.

Kegan Magee, Northwest, Soph.

Luiz Cruz, Little Elm, Soph.

You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.

Recommended for you

Load comments