Kappa Theta chapter, the local chapter of the Texas State Organization of The Delta Kappa Gamma Society, sponsored a writing contest for all elementary students from LISD schools. 

Twelve students with winning poems or narratives were acknowledged with trophies and certificates handed out by LISD superintendent, Kenneth Rogers. Parents and school principals were on hand to lend support for the students. The Juanita Harmon Grant-in-Aid Scholarship winner was Jazmine Bryant a Hebron High School student. The scholarship is given annually to a LISD senior girl who intends to pursue a teaching career.

The writing project winners were:

Third grade poetry

  • First place: Laura Schenck, Liberty Elementary
  • Second place: Emma Santos, Liberty Elementary

Third grade narrative

  • First place: Anelise Johnson, Flower Mound Elementary
  • Second place: Imara Vidhani, Hebron Valley Elementary

Fourth grade poetry

  • First place: Ranna Sandhu, Liberty Elementary
  • Second place: Neha Jafferali, Coyete Ridge Elementary

Fourth grade narrative

  • First place: Nithika Koka, Liberty Elementary
  • Second place: Nathan Comer, Donald Elementary

Fifth grade poetry

First place: Eesha Suri, Old Settlers Elementary

Second place: Jamie Campopiano, Timber Creek Elementary

Fifth grade narrative

  • First place: Erica Bang, Wellington Elementary
  • Second place: Cole Dubberly, Prairie Trail

Kappa Theta Grant-in-Aid Scholarship

  • Jazmine Bryant, Hebron High School

Like us! www.facebook.com/lewisvilleleader

Follow us on Twitter @LVLeaderNews

You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.

Recommended for you

Load comments