There will be a runoff election in Little Elm as no candidate received more than 50 percent of the votes in the mayor's race and the Town Council Place 5.

In the mayor's race, Councilman Curtis Cornelious will face Ken Eaken, who is president of the Little Elm Economic Development Board, in a runoff.

Cornelious received 49.7 percent of the votes (1,326 votes), and Eaken received 30.5 percent (814 votes). Councilman Nick Musteen received 19.8 percent (529 votes).

In Place 5 Jamell Johnson will face Jeremy Lukas in a runoff. Johnson received 33.7 percent of the votes (178 votes), and Lukas finished with 28.9 percent (153 votes). They were followed by Von Gipson (18.3, percent, 97) and Geoff Gray (17 percent, 90).

The runoff election will take place June 5. Early voting runs May 24 to June 1.

Neil Blais will resume his place in District 3 after he ran unopposed.

In addition, Propositions A, B, C and E in the town's charter election passed.

Proposition A reauthorizes the local sales and use tax at the rate of one-fourth of 1 percent to provide funding for street maintenance and repair.

Proposition B increases the pay for the mayor from $25 to $100 per meeting and the Town Council members from $25 to $50 per meeting.

Proposition C changes the deadline the town must adopt its budget from Sept. 15 to Sept. 30.

Proposition E requires the town to adopt a strategic plan and review it at least every two years.

Proposition D, which failed, called for a Charter Review Commission to meet every four years instead of every two years.

In Little Elm ISD, DeLeon English retained his seat on Place 4 of the Board of Trustees by defeating Jonathan Jones. English secured 62.8 percent of the votes (1,737 votes) to Jones' 37.2 percent (1,027).

Follow Chris Roark on Twitter!


You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.

Recommended for you

Load comments