A familiar storyline broke out during the 11-6A softball season with the three Mesquite ISD teams battling it out for the fourth and final playoff berth.

While Mesquite, North Mesquite and Horn were in contention until the final weeks of the season, it was the Jaguars who were able to emerge with the coveted playoff spot.

All three programs were recognized for their hard work recently with the unveiling of the all-district team.

Horn led the way in MISD with nine selections, followed by the Stallions with eight and the Skeeters with six.

The Jaguars, who were 6-6 in district and 11-13 overall, captured one of the 11-6A superlative awards as freshman Kailee Isaac-Bautista was named newcomer of the year. Isaac-Bautista made an immediate impact in the middle of the lineup, leading the team with four home runs to go along with a pair of triples and four doubles.

Horn graduated a decorated senior class and a quartet of that group of recognized.

Senior pitcher Alyssa Spoerl was named to the first team, as was center fielder Tabitha Borden, who was honored for the fourth year in a row.

Senior shortstop Leah Deaver, who made the second team, and senior infielder Meagan Youngman, who was named to the honorable mention list, are also four-time selections, while senior left fielder Macie Malcom made the second team.

While those losses to graduation do create holes, the Jaguars should return a solid nucleus. Junior utility player Taylor Thompson made the team for the third year in a row.

In addition to Isaac-Bautista, two other Horn freshmen had big years and Jadyn Julka and Taylor Johnson made the honorable mention list.

North Mesquite had a pair of players selected to the first team. Senior center fielder Lexie Foreman made it for the fourth consecutive season and junior third baseman Haleigh Mitchell, the newcomer of the year two years ago, made it for third time in a row.

Stallion freshman Azlyn Hornsby, who contributed in both the infield and on the mound, was a second-team selection as were senior catcher Carressa Smith and senior outfielder Desteny Ponciano, while seniors Kaitlyn Brown, Karsen Lampkin and Avery Valdez made the honorable mention list.

Mesquite senior shortstop Caitlin Giles was voted to the first team, marking her fourth straight appearance on the list. She was joined on the first team by junior utility player Madison Hays.

Hays should be joined by a solid group of returning players a year from now.

Junior center fielder Diamond Oliver was chosen for the second team, as was freshman first baseman Kiana Beasley.

Two more freshmen were picked as honorable mention selections with pitcher Jazelle Hernandez and Hunter Gilmore.

District champion Rockwall claimed three major awards with senior center fielder Reagan Swindell as offensive player of the year, senior Samantha Bean as catcher of the year and Shadie Acosta as coach of the year.

District runner-up Longview featured a talented group of juniors that saw seven players from that class recognized, headlined by pitcher of the year Kennedy Cameron and defensive player of the year Jordan McClain.

Rockwall-Heath had claimed one superlative award and it was the biggest, as junior catcher Tristin Court was honored as the 11-6A most valuable player.

11-6A Softball All-District Team

Most Valuable Player

Tristin Court        Jr.      C       Rockwall-Heath

Pitcher of the year

Kennedy Cameron         Jr.      P       Longview

Offensive Player of the Year

Reagan Swindell   Sr.     CF     Rockwall

Catcher of the Year

Samantha Bean    Sr.     C       Rockwall

Defensive Player of the Year

Jordan McClain    Jr.      SS     Longview

Newcomer of the Year

Kailee Isaac-Bautista     Fr.     OF     Horn

Coach of the Year

Shadie Acosta                         Rockwall

First Team

Lexi Coward        Jr.      P       Rockwall

Alyssa Spoerl       Sr.     P       Horn

Kerris Cameron    Jr.      C       Longview

Liz Monks  Sr.     2B     Rockwall

Abigail Renteria   Sr.     SS     Rockwall-Heath

Caitlin Giles         Sr.     SS     Mesquite

Megan Hampton  So.    SS     Rockwall

Zekyia Robinson  Jr.      3B     Longview

Haleigh Mitchell   Jr.      3B     North Mesquite

Lexie Foreman     Sr.     CF     North Mesquite

Tabitha Borden    Sr.     CF     Horn

Emi Young Sr.     CF     Rockwall-Heath

Sophia Bailey       So.    LF     Rockwall-Heath

Carter Smith        So.    LF     Rockwall

Madi Hays  Jr.      U       Mesquite

Second Team

Shelby Curtis       Jr.      P       Rockwall-Heath

Azlyn Hornsby     Fr.     P/2B  North Mesquite

Paige Harris         Jr.      P/1B  Rockwall

Carressa Smith     Sr.     C       North Mesquite

Kiana Beasley      Fr.     1B     Mesquite

Avery Cotton       Jr.      2B/OF         Longview

Leah Deaver         Sr.     SS     Horn

Ashley Monks      So.    3B     Rockwall

Diamond Oliver   Jr.      CF     Mesquite

Macie Malcom      Sr.     LF     Horn

Desteny Ponciano Sr.     OF     North Mesquite

Alexus Allen        Sr.     OF     Longview

Taylor Thompson          Jr.      U       Horn

Ashley Minor       Fr.     U       Rockwall

Honorable Mention

Jazelle Hernandez Fr.     Mesquite

Hunter Gilmore    Fr.     Mesquite

Karsen Lampkin  Sr.     North Mesquite

Avery Valdez       Sr.     North Mesquite

Kaitlyn Brown     Sr.     North Mesquite

Meagan Youngman        Sr.     Horn

Jadyn Julka Fr.     Horn

Taylor Johnson    Fr.     Horn

Lily Wilson          Rockwall-Heath

Danielle Gillean             Rockwall-Heath

Meaghan McDonald                Rockwall-Heath

Abby Lowry                  Rockwall-Heath

Samira Matlock             Tyler Lee

Brooke Davis                 Tyler Lee

Tori Sanchez        Sr.     Tyler Lee

Hayden Seamands         Fr.     Tyler Lee

Ella Laurence       Jr.      Rockwall

Madison Barnes   Fr.     Rockwall

Erica Speer Sr.     Rockwall

Sarah Collins       Sr.     Rockwall

Abbey Cassady    Sr.     Rockwall

Makayla Washington     Jr.      Longview

Alexis Hunter       Jr.      Longview

Academic All-District

Kiana Beasley      Fr.     Mesquite

Caitlin Giles         Sr.     Mesquite

Madison Hays      Jr.      Mesquite

Jazelle Hernandez Fr.     Mesquite

Karsen Lampkin  Sr.     North Mesquite

Avery Valdez       Sr.     North Mesquite

Tabitha Borden    Sr.     Horn

Kailee Isaac-Bautista     Fr.     Horn

Taylor Johnson    Fr.     Horn

Macie Malcom      Sr.     Horn

Elizabeth Mendoza        So.    Horn

Alyssa Spoerl       Sr.     Horn

Lauren Stokes      Jr.      Horn

Meagan Youngman        Sr.     Horn

Emily Baker                   Rockwall-Heath

Tristin Court        Jr.      Rockwall-Heath

Delaney Drain                Rockwall-Heath

Danielle Gillean    Sr.     Rockwall-Heath

Abigail Renteria   Sr.     Rockwall-Heath

Lily Wilson          Rockwall-Heath

Emi Young Sr.     Rockwall-Heath

Kendra Britton              Tyler Lee

Aiyanna Martinez          Tyler Lee

Angel Valladares           Tyler Lee

Brooke Davis                 Tyler Lee

Hayden Seamands                   Tyler Lee

Samira Matlock             Tyler Lee

Tori Sanchez        Sr.     Tyler Lee

Karleigh Perez                Tyler Lee

Zoie Releford                 Tyler Lee

Sam Bean   Sr.     Rockwall

Sarah Collins       Sr.     Rockwall

Liz Monks  Sr.     Rockwall

Erica Speer Sr.     Rockwall

Reagan Swindell   Sr.     Rockwall

Madison Barnes   Fr.     Rockwall

Ashley Minor       Fr.     Rockwall

Elizabeth Schaefer         Fr.     Rockwall

Mia Taylor So.    Longview

Tia Taylor  So.    Longview

Kennedy Cameron         Jr.      Longview

Kerris Cameron    Jr.      Longview

Justice Harris       Jr.      Longview

Jordan McClain    Jr.      Longview

For continued coverage on the local sports scene, follow Devin Hasson on Twitter: @DevinHasson

You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.

Recommended for you

Load comments