Highland Springs Hosts 2016 Student Scholars Awards

Highland Springs retirement community awarded ten students employed in its Dining Services Department with four-year collegiate scholarships during a luncheon ceremony on June 11.  Pictured are members of the Scholarship Committee and scholar recipients following the presentation.

Dallas, Texas—Highland Springs, the Erickson Living retirement community, awarded ten students employed in its Dining Services Department with collegiate scholarships during a luncheon ceremony held on June 11.

The value of these awards is $1,000 per semester for a four-year total of $8,000 paid directly to their accredited higher education institution. 

A fundraising drive in May generated more than $38,000 for the program, mainly from contributions by residents.  To be eligible, students must work at least 1,000 hours at Highland Springs during a two-year period and be in good employment and academic standing.

Helen Adele Johnson is a resident of Highland Springs who serves as Chairman of the Scholarship Committee.  The retired fourth grade school teacher from the Richardson Independent School District notes the strong bonds created between residents and students as a motivating factor in supporting the scholarship fund.  

“We are blessed to have very generous residents who believe in the value of education,” stated Ms. Johnson.  “The students who work here learn from our life experiences, and in turn, they share their enthusiasm and cheerfulness with us.  It’s truly a win-win program.”

Along with Ms. Johnson, residents Charles Alspach, Ann Cunningham, Dick Manassa, Pat Mullins, Carolyn Shroeder, Sue Worth and John Young serve on the Committee.

You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.

This content was contributed by a user of the site. If you believe this content may be in violation of the terms of use, you may report it.

Recommended for you

Load comments