Election day

Early voting results show residents in support of a $750 million bond package to fund highway expansion and infrastructure investment. 

Around 11:45 p.m. Tuesday night, Van Taylor officially won Texas' 3rd congressional district over Democratic-opponent Lorie Burch. On his win Tuesday night, Taylor said:

"Anne and I are honored and humbled to have been given the confidence of the people of Texas' 3rd District to represent them in the U.S. Congress. I ran for office because I want our children to grow up in an America that is just as free and strong as my generation inherited. Our children’s future depends on leaders in Washington coming together to solve problems. I have done that throughout my time in the State Legislature and I will continue to fight every day for the people of Collin County and take the commonsense solutions we have pioneered here in Texas to Washington, D.C.

I also want to give my deepest thanks to Congressman Sam Johnson. He is a hero, a friend, and completely irreplaceable. I will never be able to fill his shoes, but I hope with much guidance and support from constituents I will be able to walk in his footsteps."

State representative Matt Shaheen-R (50.28) managed to stave off Sharon Hirsch (49.72 percent) for District 66 along with State Rep. Jeff Leach-R (51.41 percent) over Sarah Depew-D (48.86 percent). Candy Noble-R (59.57 percent) maintained a strong lead over Ray Ash-D (40.43 percent) for longtime state representative Jodie Laubenberg's vacated seat. Angela Paxton-R beat out Mark Phariss-D with 52 percent for Senate District 8.

According to Bruce Sherbet, county elections administrator, Collin County recorded its highest early voter turnout in county history. The Texas Secretary of State reported 49.39 percent of Collin’s 579,893 voters voted during early voting. In previous years, Collin County Elections expected total turnout at 36-37 percent, but with the buzz surrounding this election season, Sherbet anticipated 60-65 percent turnout, or up to 375,000 registered voters at the polls.

Across the board, either with in-person voting or absentee/mail-in ballots, turnout saw significant increases over the 2014 midterm elections.

“There’s no comparison,” Sherbet said.

Nearly 70 percent of residents voted in favor of Collin County propositions A, B and C - a three-pronged $750 million bond package, centered on meeting the demands of Collin County’s rapid growth with long-term projects to improve its roadway arteries. At $750 million, the bond package contained three propositions regarding major roadway construction projects and preserving open space and parks in the county: $600 million is intended for high-speed roadways: $140 million is intended for arterial roadways; $10 million would fund open spaces and park projects among neighboring cities and preserve natural resources.

Many of the district judge seats ran unopposed, so Judges Jennifer Edgeworth, John R. Roach Jr, Ray Wheless, C. McCrann Wheless and Jim Willis will remain behind the gavel. District Attorney Greg Willis also ran unopposed.

At the end of election night, 61.15 percent of Collin County voters voted at the polls, a drastic increase over the 2014 midterm election.

Recommended for you

Load comments