Sachse has established itself as one of the top girls soccer programs in the state in recent years and this season only solidified that status.

Rowlett, meanwhile, has been a model of consistency for nearly two decades and they extended their streak of playoff appearances to 17 seasons in row.

The Mustangs and Eagles were once again well-recognized for their accomplishments on the 10-6A all-district team.

Sachse had 11 players honored and claimed four superlative awards.

That group was led by 10-6A most valuable player Caitlyn McDonald. The versatile junior midfielder was a contributor on both ends of the field and was among the district leaders with 21 goals.

Senior Abby Westin was honored as the defensive most valuable player. Westin was the leader of one of the stingiest defensive units in the state and also scored the game-winning goal in their regional quarterfinal match against Coppell

Junior Gabi Garcia was selected as the utility player of the year after scoring 18 goals this season.

Kristen Campbell was voted the 10-6A coach of the year, as she guided the Mustangs to a 24-2 record, including an undefeated mark in district play, and a trip to the regional tournament.

Sachse had four players named to the first team. Sophomore forward Gracie Harr was one of the most dynamic playmakers in the area and finished the year with 23 goals and 12 assists. Junior midfielder Niah Johnson tallied 10 goals and 15 assists to earn first-team honors, as did fellow midfielder Sabrina Reyes. Junior goalkeeper Sam Upton helped anchor a defense that posted 21 shutouts in 26 matches and allowed only six goals all season long.

On the second team, Sachse was represented by a quartet of seniors in defenders Meagan Denn, Alyssa Guzman and Grace Defoor and midfielder Hayley Endres.

Rowlett overcame a rough start to the season to finish third in 10-6A and then knocked off 9-6A runner-up Pearce in the bi-district round of the playoffs.

Sophomore Jordan Hamilton was tabbed the goalkeeper of the year after recording seven shutouts, including the 1-0 playoff win.

Three other defenders who contributed to those shutouts were honored on the first team with senior Gloria Perez, junior Cayden Etheridge and sophomore Courtney DePietro.

A trio of Eagles was also selected to the second team--sophomore forward Sydney Wallace, who led the team with 11 goals, sophomore midfielder Grace Fedosky and junior defender Kylie Coronado.

The good news for both teams is they should each have a solid nucleus to build around net season. Sachse will return five all-district honorees, while Rowlett will have four selections back in the mix.

Lakeview senior Leslie Campuzano was chosen as the offensive most valuable player and Naaman Forest sophomore Reyna Reyes was honored as the midfielder of the year.

10-6A Girls Soccer All-District Team

Most Valuable Player

Caitlyn McDonald      Jr.        Sachse

Offensive Most Valuable Player

Leslie Campuzano       Sr.        Lakeview

Defensive Most Valuable Player

Abby Westin   Sr.        Sachse

Midfielder of the Year

Reyna Reyes   So.       Naaman Forest

Goalkeeper of the Year

Jordan Hamilton         So.       Rowlett

Newcomer of the Year

Alexandra Goncalves  Fr.        South Garland

Utility Player of the Year      

Gabi Garcia     Jr.        Sachse

Coach of the Year

Kristen Campbell                    Sachse

First Team

Gracie Harr     F          So.       Sachse

Samantha Upton         GK      Jr.        Sachse

Sabrina Reyes MF      Sr.        Sachse

Niah Johnson  MF      Jr.        Sachse

Erin Hughes    F          Sr.        Naaman Forest

Kayla Gove     MF      Sr.        Naaman Forest

Alessandra Winn         MF      Sr.        Naaman Forest

Stephanie Doan           D         Jr.        Naaman Forest

Cayden Etheridge       D         Jr.        Rowlett

Courtney DePietro      D         So.       Rowlett

Gloria Perez    D         Sr.        Rowlett

Samantha Valladares  MF      Sr.        Lakeview

Gabriela Roa Bautista GK      Sr.        Lakeview

Leslye Rogue Jimenez            MF      Sr.        Lakeview

Brandy Salazar            F          So.       South Garland

Karen Ramirez            MF      So.       South Garland

Lizeth Martinez           F          So.       Garland

Daisy Mendez D         Jr.        Garland

Samantha Correa         D         Jr.        North Garland

Second Team

Hayley Endres            MF      Sr.        Sachse

Meagan Denn  D         Sr.        Sachse

Alyssa Guzman           D         Sr.        Sachse

Grace Defoor  D         Sr.        Sachse

Jenna Mendoza           D         Fr.        Naaman Forest

Emma Webb   GK      So.       Naaman Forest

Brisa Riveraa   MF      Jr.        Naaman Forest

Raven Bradley            F          Jr.        Naaman Forest

Sydney Wallace          F          So.       Rowlett

Grace Fedosky            MF      So.       Rowlett

Kylie Coronado          D         Jr.        Rowlett

Evan Walker   F          Sr.        Lakeview

Kendra Greaux           D         Sr.        Lakeview

Norma Lopez  MF      Sr.        Lakeview

Priscilla Bonilla           F          Jr.        South Garland

Samantha Pacheco      GK      Sr.        South Garland

Sarai Martinez MF      Jr.        Garland

Chi Chi Abengowe     D         Jr.        Garland

Randi Thortis  F          So.       North Garland

Honorable Mention

Emily Brown   MF/F   Sr.        Sachse

Mason Faucher            MF      So.       Naaman Forest

Ariana Barajas D         Fr.        Naaman Forest

Taylor Ingram D         Sr.        Rowlett

Jolie Terry       F          So.       Rowlett

Clarissa Castro            D         Jr.        Lakeview

Carmen Scott  D         Sr.        Lakeview

Zaray Enriquez            D         So.       South Garland

Maria Garcia-Alferes  MF      Fr.        South Garland

Sofia Olivas    GK      Sr.        Garland

Mireya Gonzalez         MF      Jr.        Garland

Lorena Cabrera           MF      So.       North Garland

Valeria Lazo    F          Sr.        North Garland

For continued coverage on the local sports scene, follow Devin Hasson on Twitter: @DevinHasson

You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.

Recommended for you

Load comments