The Colony City Hall 

The filing period for those wishing to run for The Colony City Council this fall begins Monday and runs until Aug. 17.

The city’s general election, slated for Nov. 3, will allow residents to elect Places 3, 4, 5 and 6 on the City Council for three-year terms.

Brian Wade currently holds Place 3 on The Colony City Council. He has been on the council since 2014. David Terre holds Place 4. Terre ran for mayor in 2009 and has previously served on the Planning and Zoning Commission. He has been on the council since 2011.

Perry Schrag holds Place 5, and Joel Marks holds Place 6. They have been both on the City Council since 2002. Marks served on the council from 1988 to 1996 and took a break before returning in 2002.

Wade, Terre, Schrag and Marks said they plan to file for re-election.

In order to run, applicants must have been a resident in The Colony for at least one year before Election Day, and they must be a Texas registered voter. Candidates for council places must also live in the district or place they are running for.

Filing applications can go to City Secretary Tina Stewart either in person or through the mail to City Hall at 6800 Main St.

Residents who have not previously registered to vote, or have moved from another county, will need to register with the Denton County Elections Administration Office. Go to or call 940-349-3200 for more information.

The last day to register to vote for the election is Oct. 5. Early voting runs Oct. 19-30.

Chris Roark contributed to this report.

Follow us on Twitter!


Follow Chris Roark on Twitter!


Like us on Facebook!


You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.

Recommended for you

Load comments