Service Academy

Pictured are, (front row, left) Brian Wawczak, Madeline Williams, Meredith Fusselman, Congressman Michael Burgess, Sophia Davis, Cassidy Jester, Merrick Seeley, Second Lt. Dowon Park, (back) Second Lt. Seth Sowalskie, John Brand, Mark Vaughan, Jaden Fanning, Zachary Laible, Adam White and Trey Taylor.

Congressman Michael C. Burgess, M.D. (Texas-26), chairman of the House Energy and Commerce Subcommittee on Health, announced the Class of 2023 Service Academy appointees from the 26th Congressional District.

This summer these young men and women will be entering the U.S. Military Academy at West Point, New York, the U.S. Naval Academy at Annapolis, Maryland, the U.S. Air Force Academy at Colorado Springs, Colorado, and the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy at Kings Point, New York.

"It was my privilege to nominate outstanding young men and women from North Texas as they commence a career of service to our country,” Burgess said. “The Armed Forces are the arsenal of our democracy, and our most critical resource. On behalf of the 26th Congressional District, I commend these young men and women who have pursued and accepted the call to duty.”

Students requesting appointments to the U.S. Service Academies are evaluated rigorously on a variety of criteria including academic performance, leadership qualifications, and physical preparedness. Appointments to an academy must be preceded by a nomination from a member of Congress, an academy superintendent, the vice president or a military-connected nomination.

Last week, Burgess honored these appointees at a reception hosted by the city of The Colony and Mayor Joe McCourry, who opened the event. During the ceremony, American Legion Holley-Riddle Post 21 presented the colors. Special guests at the reception were 2019 U.S. Military Academy graduates U.S. Army 2nd LT Dowon Park of Fort Worth and U.S. Army 2nd LT Seth Sowalskie of Frisco.

Burgess presented all appointees with a special certificate of Congressional recognition and an American flag flown over the U.S. Capitol in honor of their appointment.

Students residing in the 26th Congressional District entering the U.S. Service Academies are:

U.S. Military Academy

Meredith Fusselman (Roanoke)

Zachary Laible (Frisco)

Daniel Park (The Colony)

U.S. Naval Academy

John Brand (Flower Mound)

Jake Carrillo (Flower Mound)

Jaden Fanning (Lake Dallas)

Jack Tabor (Frisco)

Mark Vaughan (Flower Mound)

U.S. Air Force Academy

Blake Covin (Flower Mound)

Sophia Davis (Roanoke)

Merrick Seeley (Argyle)

Trey Taylor (Frisco)

Adam White (Frisco)

Madeline Williams (Keller)

U.S. Merchant Marine Academy

Jessica Gamsjager (Lantana)

Riley Hicks (Frisco)

Cassidy Jester (Corinth)

Brian Wawczak (Flower Mound)

Follow us on Twitter!


Follow Chris Roark on Twitter!


Like us on Facebook!


You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.

Recommended for you

Load comments