Shining Stars Awards Night

 Joseph Coburn, LISD assistant superintendent of schools, far left, and student activities, and Kappa Theta Writing Project Chairman Robyn Rucker, far right, presented the awards.

The Kappa Theta Chapter of The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International recently held its“Shining Stars Awards Night.”

Winners of the annual “More Aspiring Writers of Tomorrow” writing competition were honored with trophies, certificates and prizes. Winners were chosen from over 100 entries in grades three, four and five within Lewisville ISD.  On hand to present awards were Joseph Coburn, LISD assistant superintendent of schools and student activities, and Kappa Theta Writing Project Chairman Robyn Rucker. 

Kappa Theta member Mary Walker presented the award for the 2019 Juanita Harmon Grant-in-Aide Scholarship to senior Sydnie Nguyen from Lewisville High School. She plans to major in education at University of North Texas. 

The award is presented annually to an LISD female high school senior who plans to major in education.  It is named for Kappa Theta chapter founder and former state Delta Kappa Gamma President Juanita Harmon.

The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International, founded in 1929, is an organization that promotes women in education and brings recognition and respect to the teaching profession.  It is the largest group of women educators in the world. 

Funding for the writing competition was provided by a grant received from the Alpha State Texas Educational Foundation, also known as ASTEF. It is the nonprofit organization of the Texas State Organization of Delta Kappa Gamma.  ASTEF awards scholarships to members for advanced degrees and provides funding for leadership events, and classroom or community projects that impact Texas students and educators.

The winners are:

Third-grade narrative

First Place – Srividya Siripurapu, “The Amazing Birthday Present”; Teacher:  Darlene Lineberger, Liberty Elementary School

Second Place – Kinley Harycki, “A Wolf in the Wolves”; Teacher:  Bre Manuel, Timber Creek Elementary School

Third-grade poetry

First Place – Jon Stephens, “Wolves at Dawn”; Teacher:  Amy Hull, Bluebonnet Elementary School

Second Place – Iris Lewis, “Snowy Day”; Teacher:  Kathy Anderson, Liberty Elementary School

Fourth-grade narrative

First Place – Jena Lewallen, “A Mountain Day”; Teacher:  Heidi Soto, Flower Mound Elementary School

Second Place – Junya Shah, “The Haunted School”; Teacher:  Natalie Flagg, Homestead Elementary School

Fourth-grade poetry

First Place – Anousha Kolatkar, “Leaf”; Teacher:             Michelle Giesen, Bridlewood Elementary School

Second Place – Brayden Maughn, “Winter”; Teacher: Julie Dawes, Valley Ridge Elementary School

Fifth-grade narrative

First Place – Siddarth Vyakaranam, “Wormy Adventure”; Teacher:  Tara Haverkamp, Bluebonnet Elementary School

Second Place – Lilly Blackmon, “My Dream Place”; Teacher:  Victoria Cousins, Forest Vista Elementary School

Fifth-grade poetry

First Place – Scarlett Bair, “Aloha Luau”; Teacher:  Melodie Young, Forest Vista Elementary School

Second Place – Tanish Vaidya, “Spring Is Here”; Teacher:  Mary Davis, Bluebonnet Elementary School

Follow us on Twitter!


Like us on Facebook!


You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.

Recommended for you

Load comments